tagged w/ Lard
Well my doctor who can be blunt at times, which is good because I tend to take blunt people more seriously told me I was out of shape today and need to walk at least fifteen minutes a day. I kind of got an idea that something was wrong the night of the SF Weekly awards when I walked out of the metro station and by the time I got down to 111 Minna I had broken out in a sweat. I did that walk every day for years and never broke a sweat unless it was a very hot day. So things have changed for me and I sat down and thought about it for a bit.Well my doctor who can be blunt at times, which is good because I tend to take blunt... more
When you became a vegetarian, you quickly learned it wasn’t just about skipping pepperoni on that pizza. You had to start scanning labels for ingredients like capric acid, tallow, rennet, glycerin, whey, suet, stereate and emulsifiers – because eating animal fat by any other name would be just as carnivorous. What you may not know is that plenty of common foods widely considered to be veg-friendly (or perhaps we should say veg-adjacent) actually contain animal fat, not just dairy fat. That means flesh. Read on to learn more.
Ice cream is the one comfort food that temporarily heals all wounds. Unfortunately, you may be noshing on Bessie under all that chocolate sauce. Many brands of ice cream contain capric acid, a fatty acid that’s obtained from animal fats. Check the label!
I hate to break it to you – I really do – but that chocolate sauce you pour over your sundaes may not be any better than the ice cream underneath it. Emulsifiers are present in chocolate, which may or may not be derived from animal fat. The problem is that most labels don’t specify the difference, so you’re better off sticking to ones that do.
Animal rennet is used in the production of many different kinds of cheese. What is animal rennet, you ask? It’s a coagulating enzyme that’s extracted from a freshly-slaughtered calf’s stomach. But, that doesn’t mean you have to struggle through a life without cheese. Just buy vegetarian cheese instead, which substitutes microbial or fungal enzymes for animal rennet.
Have you ever seen a pork tart behind the glass at your local café? You might want to take a closer look. Many pastries are prepared using lard, which is rendered fat from a pig’s abdomen or kidneys. Similar baked goods may also contain capric acid.
More at the link above:When you became a vegetarian, you quickly learned it wasn’t just about skipping... more
Being a part time vegetarian isn't so bad -- I've done it for years without any real trials or tribulations. Just when I started wondering why people have an aversion toward a meat free lifestyle, PETA decided to step over into the dark side with their latest campaign, giving me all of the answers I ever needed.Being a part time vegetarian isn't so bad -- I've done it for years without... more
Army Gurkha chefs in Hampshire have been recognised for making eye-catching sculptures - made from lard.
The men at the Queen's Own Gurkha Logistic Regiment in Aldershot won silver at the Combined Services Catering Competition for their figures.
Carvings, which include the Buddha and a horse, took about 100 hours to make.
L/Cpl Amrit Limbu, 27, used three 11lb (5kg) blocks of lard to create the buddha statue but admitted that it was "boring" work.
"When I was doing the face that was most difficult," he said after spending 10 hours a day, for 10 days creating the Buddha.
"It could break easily."
The sculptures have to be kept cool, to avoid them melting and are part of the regiment's 50th anniversary celebrations this year.
Head chef, WO Jason Rawbone, said: "They are a feast for the eyes rather than the stomach."Army Gurkha chefs in Hampshire have been recognised for making eye-catching sculptures... more